“Histroy book” izdan ob 25. obletnici zdruĹženja


The idea of creating a European student organization for electrical engineering students was born in 1958, but preparation meetings started in 1963 in Paris, France. EURIELEC was founded in Berlin in 1964, with goals such as promoting contacts and practical work between foreign students of electrical engineering and also, exchanging information for study possibilities and excursions with other EE faculties. Official language of EURIELEC was French, and on the Congress in 1968 it was changed to English.



EURIELEC Congresses
  • 1966 Delft, The Netherlands
  • 1967 Paris, France
  • 1968 Berlin, Germany
  • 1969 Madrid, Spain
  • 1970 Eindhoven, The Netherlands




By 1984 the EESTEC idea was born. In the year 1985, representatives of three Dutch student guilds ETV (Delft), Thor (Eindhoven) and Scintilla (Enschede) forming the Committee for International Contacts (CIC) wrote a letter to old EURIELEC NatComs. It said that “From 1966 until 1971 there has existed a European Association of Electrical Engineering Students (EURIELEC). During this time, the student movement changed. The association died, according to the statutes. Your student association was a member of this Eurielec.”. They claimed in that letter to set up a new association with EURIELEC formers, “under the umbrella of an existing association like IEEE or ERUEL”. They said they were thinking about an annual meeting in one of the associated countries. 1986 FirstCongress in Eindhoven, The Netherlands The first EESTEC Congress was organized in 1986 in Eindhoven, the Netherlands. It was arranged for 50 participants coming from 33 different cities in 17 different European countries. It seems there were not at that time Local Committees, introduced the year after with the old name of NatCom, which is National Committee.



EESTEC Congresses
  • 1986 LC Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • 1987 LC Nova Gorica/Ljubljana
  • 1988 LC Lisbon and LC Aveiro
  • 1989 LC Budapest
  • 1990 LC Zurich
  • 1991 LC Vienna
  • 1992 LC Madrid
  • 1993 LC Budapest
  • 1994 LC Aachen
  • 1995 LC Zurich
  • 1996 LC Aachen
  • 1997 LC Tampere and LC Helsinki
  • 1998 LC Reggio Emilia
  • 1999 LC Ljubljana
  • 2000 LC Delft
  • 2001 LC London
  • 2002 LC Budapest
  • 2003 LC Cosenza
  • 2004 LC Belgrade
  • 2005 LC Madrid
  • 2006 LC Sofia
  • 2007 LC Budapest
  • 2008 LC Ljubljana and LC Rijeka
  • 2009 LC Belgrade and LC Sarajevo
  • 2010 LC Athens
  • 2011 LC Craiova
  • 2012 LC Riga and LC Tallinn
  • 2013 LC Munich
  • 2014 LC Athens
  • 2015 LC Madrid
  • 2016 LC Belgrade

More about histroy: HERE